Cooking, Eating

Cooking and Eating: Our stories

katie-smith-104748.jpg
Photo by https://unsplash.com/@kati3j3an

A lot of our time is centred around food. In a lot of our cultures, we have festivals set around eating or we eat around festivals. I am not quite sure at this point, sometimes, what is more important! We have thanksgiving dinner in the states, Christmas dinners and in Asia, Lunar New Year reunion dinners.

Even outside of traditions, food has permeated many aspects of our lives. Meet a friend, lunch or dinner? Have a family gathering, who is cooking what? Company outing, a place to sit down, eat and mingle.

Between me and some of my friends, we have shared memories due to food. In Singapore, I have a friend who cooks aglio olio pasta for me and then tells me to pick it up from her at her workplace. I have another friend who used to make me strawberry cheesecake as my late mom used to love it.

When I visit my friends in other countries, we tuck into dim sum in Hong Kong, hotpot in Taipei, samgyetang in Seoul, izakaya in Tokyo. They share with me their culture, their bits of their life. Of course, I have had pasta in Taipei, Seoul and Tokyo too, but it is the local and traditional food that gives me a glimpse into each country.

I find it a bit of loss as many families now do not cook or eat together. With the proliferation of food delivery options. it has become common to order food in rather than to cook. But nonetheless, I hope that families can continue to uphold the tradition of eating together.

To eat together, either as family or friends, means that all parties have agreed that this is time we are putting aside to give to each other. And yes, your handphone can take a rest while you are eating. For you never know when you will have the chance to eat with this person again.

Enjoy your meal today.

1 thought on “Cooking and Eating: Our stories”

  1. For you never know when you will have the chance to eat with this person again – that s so true. Treasure the moment with people we are having meals with 😉

    Like

Leave a comment